top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSastry Karra

Sports photography - Cricket in NJ, USA


Action photography is about capturing subjects in motion. It can encompass wildlife and sports photography, though you can apply the techniques involved to any number of subjects. Whatever you plan to shoot, the key to action photography is careful planning and a thorough understanding of your subject.


In action and sports photography, the most important factors to keep in mind are pre-focusing and timing, especially for very fast moving or far away subjects. It pays to be alert and ready with your camera so that anytime you see an action worth capturing, you can do it instantly.


When it comes to Sports photography, the action that was taken must be something unique with respective to the sport.



Cricket is a game that was played in most of the Commonwealth Countries (Ex-British Colonies). Being born and brought up in India, I am one among those billion Indians who are passionate about this game. Settling in USA, I am excited to see people playing Cricket in Summer in NJ. Since 2018, I started taking photos of some of my favorite Cricket teams , I give the high-resolution photos to the team players so that I can send it to their friends and family members.


Those photos where the chances of identifying the player is difficult, I use them to post in my Instagram account.


Being a very active sport, using my NIKON D7100, I got most of these at a very high or Fast shutter speed of 1/8000th of a second. This was the maximum shutter speed on this camera.I opted for Auto ISO, and hence most of them were at ISO 6400.


Below are some of my favorite photos that I took in May 2021.







3 views0 comments
bottom of page