top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSastry Karra

Action Photography Part 1 - Dirt Biking in NJ

Action - its very definition implies that something is going on, at a speed that is not normal to the human eye to grasp.


Action photography is about capturing subjects in motion, while nature photographers choose wildlife others choose sports. Personally, I consider applying the techniques involved to any number of subjects, sports, cultural events etc.


Whatever I planned to shoot, I make sure that careful planning is done and I am confident about the subject that I am involving.


In Aug/Sep 2021, in Englishtown, NJ, I visited Dirt Biking practice day where the bikers were in action. To explain the viewer what I saw at that point of time, I tried my best to freeze the subject. To achieve this goal, I had to use fast shutter speed.


The above photo in low resolution, was taken at 1/320 sec. shutter speed, with aperture of f/8 and focal length at 135mm, ISO being fixed at 100.


The below photo was taken at 1/800th of a second shutter speed with ISO still fixed at 100.



For most of the time I used SIGMA 180-500mm AFO lens. I tried my level best to have lowest ISO settings, which worked well during bright sunny day.





Once the weather changed and it became cloudy, I got compelled to push the ISO resulting in some Noise. All the above three photos were taken at a shutter speed of 1/500th of a second with ISO 400.


As an experiment, I tried the below photo taken at aver fast shutter speed (1/3200th of a second), aperture at f/8, and focal length of 200mm , with ISO still fixed at 100.




All these photos were taken using NIKON D7100 DSLR, with Benro Mach3 Tripod and of course a non-professional (low priced) ND filter.



4 views0 comments
bottom of page